Abstract of Assessment
Appeals Process
Business Personal Property
Change of Address
Exemptions for Senior Citizen and Disabled Veterans
General Information
Layers of Local Government
Legal Notices
Mill Levy Report and Certification of Levies and Revenue
Property Assessment Valuation Process
Property Search
Taxing Authorities

iaao.gif (4981 bytes)


Park County Assessors Office
Monica Jones, Assessor
856 Castello, Suite 2102
P.O. Box 636, Fairplay, CO 80440-0636

pclogo.gif (31386 bytes)

This notification is being included with your 2018 property tax notice (payable in 2019) as a combined effort within the Park County Government to reduce costs of forms and postage in sending a separate Notice of Valuation again in May 2018.

Colorado law currently requires a two-year reappraisal cycle for all real property. For most properties, the valuation for assessment for the 2018 tax roll year will be same as it was in 2018. These amounts appear on your 2018 Property Tax Notice under “Actual Value”. This amount represents the actual market value of your property as of June 30, 2017 based upon sales of comparable properties within your property’s local real estate market. The time period utilized in determining our Residential & Vacant Land appraisals is 48 months (June 30, 2013 - June 30, 2017) and generally all other property a 60 month time period (June 30, 2012 – June 30, 2017), as allowed by law. The Residential assessment rate has remained at 7.2%, and generally, all other property is assessed at 29% of the total actual value, respectively. 

If, for any reason, we change the valuation for the 2018 tax roll year, we will notify you by May 1, 2018, via a Notice of Valuation. You have the right to appeal the value placed by the Assessor each year, regardless of value changes. However, the Assessor can not and does not determine your property tax amounts. YOUR APPEAL RIGHTS ARE LISTED BELOW.

For additional data and information, please visit our Office website located at

January 2018        Monica Jones        Park County Assessor


To preserve your right to appeal the 2018 assessment, your appeal must be filed from May 1 – June 1, 2018. You may file your appeal with the Park County Assessor’s Office in person, by mail, by fax, or by email. If you wish to appear in person, we request that you contact the Office in advance to schedule an appointment with one of our staff appraisers. We are also available to discuss your valuation concerns via tele-conference, if that option is more convenient. Our Office web site located at has an “on-line” appeal module, which offers you the ability to file an objection electronically. Our Office email address is available on the web site as well.

We request that you also provide your owners’ estimate of total value, and a short explanation of how you arrived at this amount. This will help us try to determine if an error may have occurred in the appraisal of your property. We also recommend all correspondence be mailed with proof of mailing to preserve your appeal rights.

If you have further questions, please contact the Park County Assessor’s Office at 719.836.4331, Fax # 719.836.4193, and we will gladly assist you in any possible way.

* PLEASE NOTE: This notice is sent to you in compliance with Paragraph 8(c), Section 20, Article X of the Colorado Constitution. Including this notice with your property tax bill saves the taxpayers approximately $26,350.



In 2000, Colorado voters amended the State Constitution with the adoption of Section 3.5 of Article X. The amendment, and subsequent legislation, created a property tax exemption for two groups of people: a) Qualifying Seniors and b) Surviving spouses of seniors who previously qualified. For those who qualify, 50 percent of the first $200,000 in total actual value of their primary residence is exempted. For example, if the total actual value of your primary residence is $300,000, the total taxable portion will be $200,000. If your total value is $50,000, the taxable amount will be $25,000. This program was suspended from 2003 - 2006 and again in 2009 by the General Assembly due to the negative fiscal condition of the State. 

We are required by law to qualify senior property owners who are eligible for the program!
A qualifying senior must be at least 65 years old on January 1 of the year he or she qualifies, and must have owned and lived in the home for at least 10 consecutive years. To apply for the exemption, or to obtain additional information about the exemption, please contact the Park County Assessor’s Office at 719.836.4331, and we will gladly assist you in any possible way.

Additional information regarding the Senior Property Tax Exemption and the application form is available at our Office, and also at our Office web site located at for your convenience. We are requesting that if you believe you are eligible, and wish to apply for this special program, sooner is better than later, as the deadline for applying is July 15th for the 2018 tax roll year. I am personally encouraging all Seniors who may be eligible to take advantage of this program. Best Regards for this upcoming year.



Basic Qualifications - Each of the following statements must be true to qualify:

  • The applicant must be a veteran who sustained a service-connected disability while serving on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States. This includes members of the National Guard and Reserves who sustained their injuries during a period in which they were called to active duty; 
  • The applicant must be an honorably-discharged veteran;
  • The United States Department of Veterans Affairs has rated the applicant’s service-connected disability as 100 percent permanent and total;
  • The applicant must be the owner of record and must have been the owner of record since January 1 of the current year.

Exemptions to Basic Qualifications - The applicant may still qualify if one or more of the following statements are true:

  • Ownership is in the spouse’s name, and the spouse also occupies the property;
  • Ownership has been transferred to or purchased by a trust, corporate partnership or other legal entity solely for estate planning purposes; 
  • The qualifying disabled veteran or his/her spouse was, or is, confined to a health care facility.
  • The applicant was forced to move when the prior residence was condemned in an eminent domain proceeding. 

How to Apply - To apply, you must file a completed application with the Colorado Division of Veterans Affairs, postmarked no later than July 1. Late applications may be accepted until September 1 if the applicant can show good cause for missing the July 1 deadline. If you would like to receive an application form or brochure, or if you have questions about the exemption, please call the Assessor’s office at 719-836-4185.

Return to Top of Page   |   Property Search   |   Assessor Home Page